Exitmusic Announce “From Silence” EP, Residency at NYC’s Piano

According to their label, Secretly Canadian’s website:

New York City duo Exitmusic — comprised of Aleksa Palladino and Devon Church — will release their first EP this fall. The four song collection, entitled From Silence, will hit stores on October 4. They’ve also just announced a special late summer residency at NYC’s Pianos, rounding out their ranks onstage to include drummer Dru Prentiss and electronic musician Nicholas Shelestak.

Listen to “The Sea” from the forthcoming EP HERE. See Exitmusic’s tour dates & the From Silence track listing, and read more about the band after the jump.

Church and Palladino started writing together several years ago, when Church, originally from Winnipeg, moved to New York following a year teaching English in Taiwan and India. Palladino, a New York native, had been writing and recording her own songs since she was in her early teens. The pair spent pretty much all of their time creating music, but things really began to take shape when they moved to Los Angeles a year later. They began recording at home, creating music that the UK’s Supersweet Magazine described as “dark, brooding and beautiful… a living nightmare.” The duo eventually moved back to New York in 2009, and have slowly but surely been taking the city by storm with their arresting, intense live shows.

From Silence immediately establishes the duo’s beautiful, chilling aesthetic. The songs evoke a sense of loss, disorientation, and vertigo, while pulsing forward on Church’s hazy winds of guitar squalor and bass-heavy beats. Anchoring the songs are Palladino’s otherworldly voice, with its spine-tingling vibrato and rich, emotional resonance (few can let out a wail quite like Aleksa). From the urgency of opener “The Sea,” which premiered this past June on Pitchfork to glorious response, to the haunting sway of “The Hours,” and the stunning depths of “The Silence,” From Silence is the perfect introduction to one of New York City’s most intriguing new bands.

Exitmusic Live

7/19/11 New York, NY @ Pianos

7/26/11 New York, NY @ Pianos

8/3/11 New York, NY @ Pianos

From Silence Track List

1. The Sea

2. The Modern Age

3. The Hours

4. The Silence

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: